Skip to content

The identification process begins at the beginning of every child’s 2nd grade school year, and ELP services officially identified at the start of the 3rd grade school year. The criteria used to identify the ELP students are:

  1. Iowa Assessments:Click Here to Learn About the Iowa Assessments

– Student’s score must be in the 95th percentile or greater (meaning they scored higher than 95%             of the other students who took the same test)

> This test is an achievement test.


  1. Cognitive Abilities Test: Click here to learn about the Cognitive Abilities Test

– Student’s score must be greater than 130

> This test is given to test a student’s verbal, nonverbal, and quantitative reasoning skills.


  1. NWEA (MAP Testing): Click here to learn more about MAP Testing

– Student’s score must be 2 standard deviations above the norm (meaning that they scored higher              than 97.7% of the other students who took the same test)

> Tests student’s abilities in Math, Reading and Language Arts.

> These tests compare a student’s academic growth over time, as well as predicts their future                      growth.

  1. WISC -V (Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Children-fifth edition)

– Student score must be greater than 130

>This test is only given to students who have already met the criteria for the first 3 tests listed                   above.

> These test scores represent a child’s general intellectual ability as well as provides five primary             index scores in 5 areas: Verbal Comprehension, Visual Spatial, Fluid Reasoning, Working Memory,           and Processing Speed.


  1. Teacher Rating Scale (TRS)

– A gifted reading scale: completed by the classroom teacher(s).

Gilbert Community School District

Gilbert Community School District

103 Mathews Drive, Gilbert, Iowa 50105  |  (515) 232-3740